Falcon Bank
Title Sponsor: Falcon Bank
Season Tickets On Sale Now!


PDL Award Finalists Announced

PDL Award Finalists Announced

Heat's Gunderson PDL Finalist

TAMPA, Fla. – The PDL announced the finalists for its 2012 regular season honors today. The awards for Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Coach of the Year will be presented at Saturday’s awards ceremony at the 2012 PDL Championship in Greensboro, North Carolina. The finalists were selected through a vote of team management.

Five teams are in the running for multiple awards, including the Carolina Dynamo, Michigan Bucks, Ocean City Nor’easters, Portland Timbers U23s and Thunder Bay Chill. The Bucks, who finished the regular season with a PDL-best record of 13-1-2, will have the opportunity to capture four of the five awards, with Adam Grinwis a finalist for Rookie of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, Gary Parsons a finalist for Coach of the Year and Kevin Cope a finalist for Defender of the Year.

The Dynamo, who will welcome FC London to Macpherson Stadium at 7 p.m. Saturday for the 2012 PDL Championship, have a pair of finalists in Head Coach Marc Nicholls and defender Sebastien Ibeagha.

Thunder Bay’s Sullivan Silva, the PDL’s scoring leader, is a finalist for MVP along with Reading United AC’s Deshorn Brown, who shared the goal-scoring title with Silva, and Portland’s Mark Sherrod. Sherrod is also in the running for Rookie of the Year.


Deshorn Brown, Reading United AC

Mark Sherrod, Portland Timbers U23s

Sullivan Silva, Thunder Bay Chill

 Rookie of the Year

Jordan Green, Kansas City Brass

Adam Grinwis, Michigan Bucks          

Mark Sherrod, Portland Timbers U-23s

 Coach of the Year

Tony Colistro, Thunder Bay Chill

Marc Nicholls, Carolina Dynamo

Tim Oswald, Ocean City Nor’easters

Gary Parsons, Michigan Bucks

Defender of the Year

Kevin Cope, Michigan Bucks

Max Gunderson, Laredo Heat

Sebastien Ibeagha, Carolina Dynamo

 Goalkeeper of the Year

Adam Grinwis, Michigan Bucks

Alonzo Jimenez, West Texas Sockers

John McCarthy, Ocean City Nor’easters